Published on:

Civics Lession: Does Oregon Have Three “Branches” of Government?


Gavel to Gavel blog (a review of state legislation affecting the courts) had this September 4th post:

“Oregon Measure 78 clarifies: does Oregon have a judicial branch? A judicial department? Both? What does your state have?”


We have been taught since grade school (hopefully) that there are “three branches of government” in the United States: the legislative, executive, and judicial. However, the Oregon Constitution and those in most states opt not to use the word “branch” or do so to reference some other concept. This fall voters in Oregon will get a chance via Measure 78 to redefine their existing “departments” as “branches”….‘ [Link to full blog post.]

Link to Oregon Measure 78 (2012).

Contact Information